Skip to content
Card Review

Dhaka Bank Visa Signature Credit Card Review: Low Fee, BOGO Dining and the Fine Print

Our verdict

A cheap way into the Signature tier, and the renewal fee disappears if you spend BDT 3 lakh a year. Year-round BOGO dining at 14 hotels is the real draw. But Dhaka Bank leaves out the interest rate, lounge visit allowance and FX markup, so ask before you apply, and look elsewhere if generous lounge access matters most.

How it scores

Costs & fees 4.3
Rewards 2.8
Travel & lounge 3.2
Dining & lifestyle 4.0
Insurance 3.8
Clarity of terms 2.4

What we like

  • Low annual fee of BDT 7,000 + VAT
  • Renewal fee waived on BDT 3 lakh yearly spend, no points needed
  • Round-the-year BOGO dining at 14 hotels
  • Three free supplementary cards with spending limits
  • LoungeKey access abroad with just your card
  • Credit Shield cover up to BDT 40 lakh at 0.142% a month
  • 0% EMI through Swipe It and card cheques for rent and bills

What could be better

  • Interest rate, interest-free period and FX markup not published
  • Number of free LoungeKey visits not published
  • Balaka lounge allowance (4 visits a year) comes from a 2019 FAQ
  • "Extra" mileage points are the same rate as other cards as written
  • High minimum cash advance fee of BDT 250
  • Credit limit range and income requirement not stated

Dhaka Bank’s Visa Signature card has one of the lowest annual fees of any Signature-tier card in Bangladesh: BDT 7,000 plus VAT, and nothing at all if you spend BDT 3 lakh in a year. For that you get buy-one-get-one dining at 14 hotels, LoungeKey airport lounge access abroad, airport meet and assist and three free supplementary cards. The catch is that Dhaka Bank’s page leaves out several numbers you need to judge it properly. Here is what it says, what it does not, and who should apply.

How we reviewed this card

This review is based on Dhaka Bank’s Visa Signature credit card page, including its fees and charges section, and the bank’s published lounge FAQ documents, all checked in October 2026. We did not hold the card or test it on real spending. All cost examples are our own calculations from the published figures. Where the bank’s own material is unclear, out of date or contradicts itself, we say so.

The card at a glance

  • Annual fee: BDT 7,000 + VAT (first year and renewal).
  • Fee waiver: no renewal fee if you spend at least BDT 3,00,000 in a year.
  • Supplementary cards: up to three free, each with a spending limit you set.
  • Rewards: mileage points on retail spending, redeemable for privileges including cashback.
  • Headline perks: round-the-year BOGO dining at 14 hotels, LoungeKey access to 1,000+ lounges abroad, Balaka lounge at Dhaka airport, airport meet and assist, 0% EMI through Swipe It, and Credit Shield insurance.
  • Not published on the page: interest rate, credit limit range, income requirement and number of free LoungeKey visits.

Costs and fees in full

With 15% VAT, the annual fee is about BDT 8,050 a year (our calculation). That is less than half of DBBL’s World card and a fraction of City Bank’s Amex Platinum Reserve. Even better, the renewal fee disappears if your total spending for the year reaches BDT 3 lakh, which is about BDT 25,000 a month. Unlike some rivals, this waiver works on spending, not points.

ChargeAmount (15% VAT applies)
First year / annual / renewal feeBDT 7,000
Renewal fee waiverSpend BDT 3,00,000 or more in a year
Supplementary cardsFree up to 3 cards; regular fee from the 4th
Cash advance fee (taka)2.5% (minimum BDT 250)
Cash advance fee (USD)2.5% (minimum USD 5)
Late payment feeBDT 1,000 / USD 15
Excess limit feeBDT 1,000 / USD 15
Card replacementBDT 600
PIN replacementBDT 600
Plastic fee at card renewalBDT 600
Transaction alertBDT 100 a year
Limit enhancementBDT 200 each time
Card to wallet or account transfer1.5% or BDT 150, whichever is higher
Card cheque processing1.5% or BDT 150, whichever is higher
Card cheque bookBDT 200 (first book free)
InstaLoan processing / early settlement1% of loan amount / 1% of settlement amount
Statement reprintBDT 500
Sales slip retrievalBDT 500 / USD 10
Outstation cheque collectionBDT 500 / USD 15
Returned chequeBDT 1,000 / USD 10
NID verification / CIB feeBDT 10 / BDT 100, or at actual
Credit Shield insurance premium14.2 paisa per BDT 100 of outstanding, per month
Minimum payment5% or BDT 500 (taka); 5% or USD 25 (dollar), whichever is higher

Source: Dhaka Bank Visa Signature credit card page, fees and charges section.

What is missing matters as much as what is listed:

  • No interest rate. The card page does not state the interest rate on purchases or cash advances. Many Bangladeshi banks charge around 25% a year on credit cards, but you should get Dhaka Bank’s exact rate in writing before you carry any balance.
  • No foreign transaction markup. Most banks add a fee on non-USD spending abroad. Ask Dhaka Bank what it charges.
  • No interest-free period. The page does not say how many interest-free days you get.
  • Cash costs more than elsewhere at the low end. The minimum cash advance fee is BDT 250, compared with BDT 100 to 150 at several other banks.

For a general guide to card interest and minimum payments, see the real cost of a credit card in Bangladesh.

Rewards: mileage points

Dhaka Bank says Signature cardholders earn “extra mileage points”, then gives the rate as 1 point per BDT 50 of retail spending and says other cardholders also earn 1 point per BDT 50. As written, there is no extra. This is probably an error on the page, but until the bank clarifies it, assume the standard rate. Points can be redeemed for privileges including cashback; the page does not give a redemption table or the value of a point.

In practice, the card’s real reward is the fee waiver: spend BDT 3 lakh a year and the renewal fee is gone.

Dining: BOGO at 14 hotels, all year

This is the card’s strongest feature. Dhaka Bank lists round-the-year buy-one-get-one offers for Signature cardholders at:

HotelOffer as listed
Radisson Blu DhakaBOGO round the year
The Westin DhakaBOGO breakfast, lunch and dinner at Seasonal Tastes; theme nights Thursday and Friday; weekend brunch Friday and Saturday
Le Meridien DhakaBOGO round the year
Four Points by SheratonBOGO breakfast, lunch and dinner; BOGO brunch Friday and Saturday
The Lakeshore, GulshanBOGO dinner at Golden Goose, Thursday to Saturday
Six Seasons HotelBOGO round the year
Amari DhakaBOGO breakfast, lunch and dinner
Radisson Blu Chattogram Bay ViewBOGO dinner buffet
The Peninsula ChittagongBOGO breakfast, lunch and dinner
The Olives Residence & SuiteBOGO round the year
Platinum HotelsBOGO round the year
Hotel SarinaBOGO round the year
Golden TulipBOGO round the year
InterContinental DhakaBOGO

Terms and conditions apply, and hotels can change their offers. A couple using a BOGO buffet once a month at an assumed BDT 6,000 per person would save about BDT 72,000 a year (our estimate), roughly nine times the annual fee.

The card also gives discounts at Dhaka Bank’s partner outlets and 0% instalments on high-value purchases through the bank’s “Swipe It” programme.

Travel and lounge benefits

LoungeKey abroad

Instead of Priority Pass, Dhaka Bank uses LoungeKey (Associate Plus). You enter participating lounges abroad by showing your Signature card and a same-day boarding pass and saying you are a LoungeKey member, so there is no extra membership card to carry. The page mentions both 1,000+ and 1,500+ lounges. LoungeKey also offers airport retail, spa and dining discounts, and its app shows your remaining visits.

The important number is missing: Dhaka Bank does not publish how many free LoungeKey visits you get or what extra visits cost. Check your allocation in the LoungeKey app or ask the bank before you rely on it.

Balaka Lounge at Dhaka airport

According to Dhaka Bank’s lounge FAQ, Visa Signature cardholders get 4 free visits a year to the Balaka lounge at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport, with up to 3 guests (a spouse and two children under 12). The allowance is shared between the primary and supplementary cardholders. Extra visits, and children over 12 or other guests, cost BDT 2,000 per visit, added to your statement. Note that this FAQ is dated October 2019, so confirm the current terms.

Meet and assist

A meet and assist service is available at the airport for arrivals and departures. You book it through the contact centre in advance. The page does not say how many times a year you can use it or how many people it covers.

Credit Shield insurance

Credit Shield is an insurance plan charged at 14.2 paisa per BDT 100 of outstanding balance each month, about 0.14% a month. On a BDT 1 lakh balance, that is about BDT 142 a month (our calculation). It covers cardholders aged 18 to 64, with cover ending at 65.

EventWhat it pays
Accidental deathCard balance cleared, plus 3 times the balance to your successors (400% in total)
Death due to sicknessCard balance cleared, plus 100% of the balance to your successors (200% in total)
Permanent total disability200% of the outstanding amount
13 critical illnesses50% of last month’s outstanding credited to your card
Maximum total benefitBDT 40,00,000

The covered illnesses are major cancers, stroke, first heart attack, serious coronary artery disease, heart valve surgery, primary pulmonary hypertension, end-stage lung disease, end-stage liver failure, fulminant hepatitis, kidney failure, coma, aplastic anaemia and major organ or bone marrow transplant. Because payouts are tied to your card balance, the cover is worth little if you pay in full every month.

Everyday features

  • Cash withdrawal: up to 50% of your taka limit at Dhaka Bank and other Visa ATMs in Bangladesh, and up to 50% of your dollar limit at Visa ATMs worldwide.
  • Supplementary cards: up to three free, with a spending limit you can set for each, which is useful for giving children a controlled allowance.
  • Card cheques to pay rent, insurance premiums and other bills where cards are not accepted. The first cheque book is free.
  • Payments by auto-debit from a Dhaka Bank account, internet banking or the Dhaka Bank Go app.
  • Security: EMV chip, contactless payments, PIN for shop and ATM transactions, and OTP for online purchases.
  • Service: free e-statements, transaction alerts (BDT 100 a year) and a 24/7 contact centre on 16474 or +8809678016474.

How it compares

FeatureDhaka Bank Visa SignatureUCB Visa SignatureDBBL Mastercard World
Annual fee (before VAT)BDT 7,000BDT 10,000 (+ BDT 10,000 issuing fee)BDT 20,000
Fee waiverSpend BDT 3 lakh a year12,000 points, from year 212,000 points (automatic)
Interest rateNot published25% a year18% a year
Lounges abroadLoungeKey (visits not published)12 Priority Pass entries incl. guestsPriority Pass (limits unclear)
Dhaka airport loungeBalaka, 4 visits a year (2019 FAQ)Unlimited UCB lounges in 6 airportsBalaka, 12 visits a year
Free supplementary cards32None (50% fee)
Hotel BOGO14 hotels15 hotelsYes

Read our full reviews of the UCB Visa Signature, the DBBL Nexus Mastercard World and the City Bank Amex Platinum Reserve.

Who it’s for, and who should skip it

Good fit: people who want a Signature card mainly for hotel dining, spend around BDT 25,000 a month to keep it free, want several family cards with spending limits, and pay in full each month.

Poor fit: frequent international travellers who need generous, clearly defined lounge access, and anyone who might carry a balance before knowing the interest rate.

Ask Dhaka Bank before applying: the interest rate and interest-free period, the foreign currency markup, your free LoungeKey visits, the current Balaka lounge allowance, meet and assist limits, the real mileage point rate, and the credit limit range and income needed.

How to apply

You can apply through the form on Dhaka Bank’s Signature card page, which asks for your name, contact details, profession, age and monthly income, or visit a Dhaka Bank branch. Expect to provide your NID, photos, tax return proof and income documents such as salary certificates and bank statements.

This review is for general information only and is not financial advice. Fees, offers and terms change; confirm the current details with Dhaka Bank before applying.

Key details

Card type
Visa Signature, contactless EMV
Annual fee
BDT 7,000 + VAT (first year and renewal)
Fee waiver
Spend BDT 3 lakh or more in a year
Supplementary cards
Up to 3 free
Interest rate
Not published on the card page
Cash advance
Up to 50% of limit; fee 2.5% (min BDT 250 / USD 5)
Late fee
BDT 1,000 / USD 15
Minimum payment
5% or BDT 500 (USD 5% or USD 25)
Rewards
1 mileage point per BDT 50 (as stated)
Lounges
LoungeKey abroad; Balaka at Dhaka airport (4 visits a year per 2019 FAQ)
Dining
BOGO at 14 hotels, round the year
Insurance
Credit Shield, 14.2 paisa per BDT 100 a month, up to BDT 40 lakh
Contact
16474 or +8809678016474

Frequently asked questions

What is the annual fee of the Dhaka Bank Visa Signature card?
BDT 7,000 plus VAT, about BDT 8,050 a year, for both the first year and renewals.
How can I avoid the renewal fee?
Spend at least BDT 3 lakh on the card in a year, about BDT 25,000 a month, and the renewal fee is not charged.
Does the card give airport lounge access?
Yes. LoungeKey gives access to lounges abroad, and Dhaka Bank's lounge FAQ lists 4 free Balaka lounge visits a year at Dhaka airport. The bank does not publish the number of free LoungeKey visits, so check before you travel.
Which hotels offer buy one get one?
Dhaka Bank lists 14, including Radisson Blu Dhaka, The Westin, Le Meridien, Four Points by Sheraton, Amari, InterContinental, Six Seasons, The Lakeshore and The Peninsula Chittagong.
What is the interest rate?
Dhaka Bank does not publish it on the card page. Ask the bank for the current rate before carrying a balance.
How many supplementary cards are free?
Up to three, and you can set a spending limit for each.
What does Credit Shield cost?
14.2 paisa for every BDT 100 of outstanding balance each month. It can pay up to 400% of the balance on accidental death, capped at BDT 40 lakh.

Sources

  1. Dhaka Bank: Visa Signature credit card page, including fees and charges · dhakabank.com.bd
  2. Dhaka Bank: Balaka Lounge FAQ (October 2019) · dhakabank.com.bd
  3. Dhaka Bank: LoungeKey Associate Plus customer journey · dhakabank.com.bd

One good money story, every Friday.

Free. No spam. Unsubscribe any time.